Chicago Theatre Review

Chicago Theatre Review

"Potted Potter" is Fast-Paced Fun for Fans of All Ages

November 19, 2012 Reviews No Comments

Potted Potter at the Broadway Playhouse at Water Tower Place

Starvox Entertainment and Potted Productions’ hit off-Broadway show, hosted by Broadway In Chicago

Recommended

WORK FROM NO HOME

ng>

Reviewed by Darcy Rose Coussens

Potted Potter is a hilarious treat for anyone alive during the last decade, packing the seven Harry Potter books into seventy minutes with plenty of silly mishaps and commentary by the dynamic duo, Daniel Clarkson and Jefferson Turner (Dan and Jeff). The many children in the audience, some wearing robes or scarlet and gold scarves, were completely on board from the moment they walked in. In the lobby kids can draw their favorite magical creature and tally which house they would be in

at Hogwarts (Gryffindor outnumbers Hufflepuff by about a ratio of 20:1).

If you haven’t read the books or seen the movies by this point, you probably don’t care to know the stories. Granted, you also probably won’t attend this show. It’s largely a huge inside joke for kids and adults alike who know these characters like old friends and have been dying to play quidditch as much as Dan has.

However, the show focuses less on the plots of each book and more on the silly mishaps, costume and accent changes, and commentary on the books by Dan and Jeff. This works well, because the lengthy series has too many complex plot points to cram into such a short time, and it allows anyone with a bit of familiarity with this magical world to enjoy the show.

I appreciate that they only mention the movies once, using the books as a structure for the show. Most of the audience knew the stories already, so Dan and Jeff broke up the sequence with updates about book seven, a few running jokes about the cast size and lack of effects, and quippy banter between the two actors. A large portion of the show was also devoted to a rousing game of quidditch in which the entire audience participated. The two actors included the audience in the magic from their first appearances, and there were plenty of delicious moments when we realized something was improvised. They seem to do a great job of keeping the show fresh throughout their tour, and it shows.

Dan and Jeff understand comedy, kids, and how to be goofy but honest with the audience. They gently mock aspects of the Potter books while celebrating the fun and brilliance of this imaginary world. The stories are condensed to a point where they seem utterly ridiculous, but that’s what is so fun. It also became clear that many of the kids had not read the more difficult and mature last few books, so I was glad to see that it didn’t really spoil anything, taking us through the end at a breakneck pace in a clever song parody.

This show is a huge hit for kids and the rest of the family too, if you can afford it at a range of tickets from $39.95-84.95. Don’t expect a meaningful work of art, but this is solid entertainment that all fans will enjoy. Expect a whirlwind of jokes, puns, audience participation, silly string, hats, accents, pop culture references, and a disco ball. You should also expect to laugh almost constantly for this 70-minute ride through a series that was, for me–and is for many of the young audience members–a huge part of growing up.

Potted Potter: The Unauthorized Harry Experience – A Parody by Dan and Jeff” plays at the Broadway Playhouse at Water Tower Place, 175 E. Chestnut Street, Chicago until December 23.

Call the Broadway In Chicago Ticket Line at (800) 775-2000, visit any Broadway In Chicago Box Office, or visit BroadwayInChicago.com for tickets.


About the Author -